The Chakras

Classes at Pure Synergy (4).png

In yoga, reiki, and ayurveda, you often hear mention of the 7 chakras. In western medicine you don’t hear about the chakras very much, so what are they?

The 7 chakras are energy centers in our body that start at the base of our spine and continue to the crown of our head. Each of the chakras are associated with different body parts, illnesses, and emotions. They also have colors, gemstones, and smells.

Root Chakra

  • Sanskrit Name: Muladhara

  • Color: Red

  • Location: Base of spine

  • Scent: Patchouli, cloves

  • Gemstone: Bloodstone, hematite, garnet

  • Balanced: Feeling secure, stable, healthy, and safe

  • Unbalanced: Low energy, alienated, and easily angered

Sacral Chakra

  • Sanskrit Name: Swadhisthana

  • Location: Hips/Pelvic Area

  • Color: Orange

  • Scent: Tangerine, bergamot, orange, neroli

  • Gemstone: carnelian, red and brown aventurine

  • Balanced: grace, flexibility, and creativity

  • Unbalanced: Jealousy, guilt, shame of our body, and possessiveness

Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Sanskrit Name: Manipura

  • Location: 2 inches below the naval

  • Color: Yellow

  • Scent: Lemongrass, coriander, frankincense

  • Gemstone: Topaz, citrine, amber

  • Balanced: Comfortable with oneself, feelings of harmony and protection

  • Unbalanced: Depression and lack of self-confidence

Heart Chakra

  • Sanskrit Name: Anahata

  • Location: Heart

  • Color: Green

  • Scent: Ylang ylang and rose

  • Gemstone: Jade, green tourmaline, emerald, jade

  • Balanced: joy, love, gratitude, and compassion

  • Unbalanced: jealousy, abandonment, anger, loneliness, and bitterness

Throat Chakra

  • Sanskrit Name: Vishudda

  • Location: Throat

  • Color: Blue

  • Scent: Lime, sage, cedarwood

  • Gemstone: Turquoise, blue agate, lapis lazuli

  • Balanced: freedom of expression, good communication skills

  • Unbalanced: Lack of self-expression, feelings of powerlessness, and loss of control

Third Eye Chakra

  • Sanskrit Name: Ajna

  • Location: Middle of the eyebrows

  • Color: Indigo

  • Scent: Lavender, geranium, jasmine

  • Gemstone: Sodalite, blue aventurine, lapis lazuli

  • Balanced: open and focused, find truth in life, and a spiritual connection to the world and people around us

  • Unbalanced: Moodiness, overly daydreaming, distrust

Crown Chakra

  • Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara

  • Location: Top of the head

  • Color: Purple

  • Scent: Sandalwood

  • Gemstone: Amethyst, clear quartz, selenite

  • Balanced: Ability to be present in the moment, trust in inner voice

  • Unbalanced: Depression, inability to learn